Featured Artist: Michelle Shearer – WireMoonJewelry

Today I’d like to introduce Michelle Shearer from WireMoonJewelry! Her Etsy shop features handmade wire wrapped jewelry with natural stones. I love the Native American inspiration found in her work, and the detail in her pieces is stunning! Without further ado, here’s Michelle:


Tell us a little about yourself.

I am a college student in Califonia trying to make a living with art. I am a huge crystal and stone nerd, with a collection that is overtaking my bedroom! I have a small cat, Hex, who is basically my child, and I live with my creative parents and sisters, in a crazy household of seven!

dream-catcher-earrings

Dream Catcher Pair of Earrings

How did you become interested in creating?

My creative story all begins when I was little, with blond pig tales, sitting with my mom at a table and making small kiddie crafts. My mom knew that I needed to keep my ADHD hands on something to keep me still, so she showed me the world of crafting. Without knowing it, crafting and creating became a part of my everyday life. We experimented with different materials like paper, metal, paints, and clay. I was slowly becoming a Jack-of-All-Trades. I have also had a strong love for science. I was very interested in geology and the beauty of crystals and gemstones. Not until I was in high school, I mixed the two together. Bringing both beloved crystals and art together to make wire wrapped jewelry and sculptures.

wire-wrapped-pendant-necklace

Wire Wrapped Pendant Necklace

What is your inspiration?

My inspiration is often nature. To me, crystals and stones are some of the most beautiful things in the world. I needed a way to show off my stunning crystal collection and discovered wire wrapping. I am also fascinated with native American culture and lore. Another thing that inspires me is the idea that I can make a living doing this. Every time I dream of living on my own and being able to support myself creating art, I can’t help but get up and make a new piece of jewelry!

snowflake-obsidian-necklace

Snowflake Obsidian Necklace

What is your favorite piece you’ve made and why?

My favorite piece I have ever made is my copper and snowflake obsidian necklace. I love this piece so much, because I just adore snowflake obsidian, and in my opinion, this is my best piece yet. I put a lot of hard work and detail into this necklace, and sure was it worth it! I sold it to a close family friend, and I know it is well taken care of!

Leave a Reply

