WHEN THAT BEAUTIFUL RECIPE FAILS

Yesterday was my husband’s birthday, so I decided to try to cook something special for him. His favorite restaurant is Papadeaux’s which  serves cajun and seafood. I love the idea of seafood, but in actuality I find it repulsive. And that’s too bad because I think it looks beautiful and has great health benefits.

7-3-16 Lemon Wedges and Parsley

I decided to make a combination of this paella recipe and this shrimp foil pack. Well, it was mostly the paella recipe, but I thought the sliced corn from the second added a nice bit of color. I’ve always wanted to try mussels. They look really yummy popped open in a bed of pasta, so I was excited about giving this meal a shot.

7-3-16 Mussels

I also got to experience my first shrimp de-veining. That was NOT fun.

7-3-16 Shrimp Ew

It was strange cooking this meal. I’ve never smelled something that made me both salivate and gag simultaneously. No matter how bad I want to like seafood I should just accept the fact that I won’t.

I put a lot of work into it. I even fire-roasted my own tomatoes on the grill versus buying the canned stuff.

7-3-16 Seafood Dinner

It came out beautiful (even if the photo was blurry). Sadly, my son was the only one to like the meal. I think between getting the family involved in the shrimp de-veining and the mussels (they icked me the heck out—pictures are deceiving!), no one really ate it.

But that’s okay. At least I got a visit from my tree frog friend.

7-3-16 Kermit the Tree Frog

Well, it was a beautiful meal. The recipe was great and smelled heavenly up until the point I added the prawns. Too bad no one ate it.

Leave a Reply

