VEGGIE GARDEN UPDATE: TWEEN STAGE

Well it’s been 16 days since I posted my last update on my veggie garden. I planted my seedlings at the beginning of April, and they are finally starting to take shape. Funny thing: my friend took about a dozen seedlings that were actually smaller than the ones I kept, but hers flourished from the moment she took them off my hands and soon outgrew mine (they are probably triple the size!).

It drove me crazy when she’d text me an update on her tomato growth. She keeps hers on her patio in the shade, and every site I’ve read on vegetable gardening insists they need 6-8 hours of direct sunlight. She also said she plays them music (specifically Bob Marley) and guess who set a bluetooth speaker by her garden soon after: this girl.

But after even more research, I think I found the answer. Tomatoes don’t like their leaves to get wet during watering. Since I stopped watering them with the sprinkler, they seem to be shooting up like mad.

Anyway, without further ado… Here are some before and after shots of my lovely potted garden.

RUTGER’S TOMATOES

tomatoes 6

Rutger Tomatoes

BELL PEPPERS

aphid-attacked-bell-pepper 7

bell pepper

DRAGON CAYENNE PEPPER

cayenne-pepper 5

cayenne pepper

POBLANO PEPPERS

poblano 8

plant types

HERB GARDEN

Potted Herb Garden

herb garden

I moved my herb garden into the ground beneath my kitchen window. The picture makes it look like a jungle especially with our “grass” growing over the rock edging. By placing marigolds around the edge, I hoped to keep down pests, but they appear to still be chowing down on my herbs. Who can blame them, though?  Herbs are awesome.

NEW ADDITIONS

Spaghetti Squash and Cantaloupe Sprouts

I went ahead and planted my spaghetti squash and cantaloupe about a week and a half ago. I can’t believe how big the squash leaves are! They have to be as big as my hands put together.

bean sprouts

And low and behold we’ve got beans! My son asked me to buy dried bean soup from Sprouts which has about 8 or 9 different beans. I was so proud of my boy for wanting to eat something healthy only to find out when we got home that he just wanted to plant the beans. If anything, this gives my kiddos something to grow themselves.

Now that it’s warming up, we’re starting to see some Texas critters. A certain snake on the doorframe situation prompted us to get a move on with our yard overhaul project, but here’s further proof that we need to get started ASAP.

critters

That’s a snake tail poking out of our rotted out timbers and a redheaded centipede. The snake I can deal with, but the centipede… It was about six inches long and took forever to die. Sorry, bro, but RIP.

I’m almost to the point where I can break down our complicated backyard. But first I want to make sure we have some solid ideas. For now, I hope you enjoy the veggie photos. Happy gardening!

Leave a Reply

